Enlightened and Reinvigorated

Today I had planned to take my sign to city hall. I heard there was a meeting, but I didn’t know the details, like when, where and if it was public, but I thought if I just stood outside, maybe someone would notice and talk to me.

One of my friends texted me first thing this morning to tell me the meeting was at nine.

First let me say, I was so excited that someone else cared enough to make sure I knew when it was! SO COOL!!

Also, she did me a huge favor because I knew then, that I couldn’t make it to school drop off and find the meeting in time, so I looked online and found that I could stream it live from home and not a moment too soon as they were just getting started.

For 3 solid hours, I listened to what had been done, what was proposed by agencies who would need funding and what hadn’t yet been considered.

The whole thing was very eye opening.

They didn’t seem to get everyone on board with the current plan, that in my opinion, was lacking concrete steps from start to finish.

So it won’t be done, in the bulldozer fashion originally discussed, the first week in May. HOORAY!!!

We primarily heard from two agencies who are proposing, that with funding, they can continue their efforts. One is the homeless alliance and they are creating a robust, diverse system to help people. While I applaud their efforts and all they have accomplished so far, I feel like they are creating an organization that’s intended to be around forever vs. an interim alliance to end homelessness. The other is a shelter looking for additional funding for additional beds and would need to come back to the table for funding every year.

In either case, if approved, the problem remains despite throwing tons of money at it.

Since no one seems to have a solid, cost effective, long term solution I would have loved to pitch them my idea, but I can see now how the red tape would cripple my plans if I were to go directly to the mayor or through city counsel.  So my current plan is scrapped.

I can’t begin to express how helpful this meeting was for me and that’s saying something because as a rule, I hate meetings and overtly avoid them. That said I can also say that this meeting was the epitome of the reason I loath meetings, we listen to a lot of people talk, but nothing gets accomplished. So while it was neither a victory nor a defeat, it brought me up to speed in a way I don’t think could have happened, by meeting with the individuals I had been trying to contact.

Now I feel like I have a more educated starting point for the beginnings of Plan B, already forming in my head and since the push to kick everyone out of tent city May 1st is now a soft target, I am once again excited that the prospect of helping the people of tent city might again be possible.

I have to go brain dump to make room for more thoughts!!!

Thanks to everyone for their supportive comments, likes and meeting notifications

And especially Pieces who keeps moving me forward with her powerful words.

5 thoughts on “Enlightened and Reinvigorated

  1. That is awesome!! Such good progress. Metings can be talk fests – I know. Been in plenty of them in my time. But in order to achieve what you want, you also need to understand the systems so you can work with them and get them on side. It’s never a short fix. Your passion and motivation will help keep you focused.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Reblogged this on Pieces of Bipolar and commented:
    No small action ever goes unrewarded. My friend, Tempestjoy, turned her passion into impetus as she protested for the rights of the homeless. Her efforts have been contagious and with a small network building, there is the promise of great things to come. Go Tempestjoy, you rock!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

