Picket Lessons 101

In a previous post I went on a tirade about the Mayor’s decision to evict people from Tent City the first week of May. One of my favorite bloggers Pieces encouraged me to make my voice (message) heard.

So I made a sign and stood on a busy street corner for an hour and a half yesterday.

poster

Here is what I learned:

1. I’m incredibly out of shape. It felt really good though to be walking and I was happy I managed to hang in there for that long.

2. You should always remember sunscreen. I had on short sleeves and a ball cap. I knew my face was protected and I was trying to use my arms as a gauge on when I’d had enough sun, as I didn’t think anything else was at risk. WRONG My shirt was an oval cut and I burnt the hell out of half my neck. So typical of me…couldn’t burn the whole thing, just half…like a moron.

Sunscreen fail

3. While I was out there for the homeless, I think the person that benefited the most was me.

Sadly, no news crew or viral tweets, but the support was amazing.

The first 20 minutes or so I was trying to get over my stage fright…I wanted to dance and sing, but I became super self-conscious, like when you go on stage for opening night of a play. Of course, by night three you aren’t even a little nervous walking on to the stage. Happily it didn’t take three nights, only about a half hour before a great song came on my phone and I felt the beat and couldn’t stop smiling.

I would start at the traffic light facing traffic and when the light turned red and everyone was forced to sit there, I would walk slowly towards them holding the sign still so they could read it. I kept walking until I reached the last car or the light changed, at which time I would turn around and go back to the corner by the traffic light so I didn’t cause an accident if someone kept reading the sign instead of driving.

I tried to watch the faces of the people in the car, so if they were reading I would go slower and let them finish reading, but if they were ignoring me, I would move a little quicker to the next car.

I think in the beginning a lot of people assumed I was out there with a request for money as they wouldn’t look towards me or make eye contact, but the longer I was out there and the more fun I was having, I think people figuredย I couldn’t be asking for money and started reading the sign.

I saw a lot of perplexed faces and I think every little kid that was bored in the backseat of the car practically broke their neck trying to read that sign,

but then it started happening…

People were getting it! ย I saw people look me in the eye and nod their head yes! Then they started waving at me to let me know they agreed! Then I even got thumbs up and a few people with their windows down said good job or thank you!

I probably would have stayed out longer because the positive energy was like an elixir, but as I noticed my arms start to get a little pink, I also realized that the sun had hit a point where I couldn’t see in the windows anymore because it was blinding me. So I decided to call it a day.

I am really looking forward to Wednesday. I took the day off and I am going to park myself by the mayors office or outside the homeless alliance, I haven’t decided which. It should definitely get a little more attention that’s for sure. ย I have to remember to get a hold of the local news and see if they will show up.

Send me good vibes or at least a calling card for if I get sent to jail…hahahaha….just kidding. ๐Ÿ™‚

10 thoughts on “Picket Lessons 101

  1. Wow! This is awesome. It’s great to know you are doing something that benefits others. I know the feeling of joy you described, when others understand your passion. Great for you!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. OHMYGOD!!!!! You DID it. YOU ARE SOOOOO BRAVE!! I’m sure it was terrifying at first but you did it. You don’t know who those people are who waved or gave the thumbs up. They could be just the right person to bring about change – in the right job, have the right money, even have counsel with the mayor HIMSELF. Everything in life has a ripple effect and you girl, you just created a ripple. So no media or twitter, but you DID MOST CERTAINLY make a difference. You stood (and got sunburnt) for your convictions, belief, for your truth. So commendable. I’m so proud. I would have done it with you had I not been living halfway around the world ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Pieces….know that I wouldn’t have done it without your encouragement and that’s just like standing next to me on the street corner! I feel like I’m finally taking action I can be proud of when I meet my maker. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on Pieces of Bipolar and commented:
    My friend, Tempestjoy is so brave! When problems arose regarding something close and precious to her heart (the homeless + Tent City), she felt helplessness and despair. But in a display of loyalty true grit, she turned it around, using her resources of time + presence, she showed her support and rallied for change for the benefit of others. In my eyes, she is the butterfly wing in the dense forest and I look forward to seeing the ripples play out. She doesn’t just talk the talk. This lady walks the walk!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

