54 Minutes

When I grow up…I want to be just like her!

It’s been a tumultuous few weeks.  I have faced my share of bullshit, worry and crisis.

My ex was in arrears close to $800 with the school, who notified me that if it’s not caught up, my son cannot re-enroll.  Re-enrollment for returning students ends on the 17th and then is opened to the public, which means he could lose his spot.

My son has been suicidal.  With all the medication changes, I expected difficulty, but this was over the top and painful to watch.

I have had to field repeated calls from the ex, who refuses to accept our sons mental health diagnosis and can’t understand why our son, who tests gifted, is failing most of his classes.

My normally amazing job has been anything, but easy.

My ex is also behind 2 child support payments, which I was afraid to ask about, because catching up with the school is far more important, but then…

My bank, who normally pays my over-drafted account for a very painful fee, decided to bounce my rent check.

I was honestly ready to pull up stakes, move to a cave in Antarctica, never to be heard from again.

Image result for free image cave in antarctica

As all of this was going on around me, I remained detached.  I knew intellectually that the shit had hit the fan, but emotionally, it was only showing up on the radar.

I was secretly scared to death that when the extra energy from anxiety ran out that I would land myself in “Villa-de-Depression” for an extended stay.

The last 18 hours before I met with my counselor were the hardest because I was crashing.  I felt like I was hanging by a thread, ready to give up at any moment.

Then, she did it.  In 54 minutes, she did it.  I wish I knew how she did it, but I don’t.

We covered ALL of this, in painstaking, gory detail and when I walked out, I felt refreshed and free.

I don’t know how we could have covered it all in such a short period or how it could all end up ok, but I do know I couldn’t get by without her.

I have had MANY therapists in my lifetime.  I can tell you, with no hesitation that it took a lot of work on my part to get to this place, but I would not have ever reached this place without the RIGHT therapist.

If you are not with the right therapist…trust me…it’s worth it to shop around.  When you only have 54 minutes…each second counts!

7 thoughts on “54 Minutes

  1. I am glad to hear that you were able to find some comfort in your session. It sounds like you are in a tough time right now, keep strong and keep your chin up. Rooting for you, sending positive vibes your way and a big ‘ol *virtual hug* should you need one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

